The International Academic Consortium for Sustainable Cities (IACSC) was established in September 2009 with an initiative of the Yokohama City University (YCU). It was originated from a meeting session entitled “Cities and Universities – Towards Collaboration for Sustainable Cities” during the conference of CITYNET, Yokohama on September 9, 2009, in which YCU served as a coordinator.

The IACSC aims to develop cooperation, to foster dialogues and discussions, to encourage sharing of information and resources and to promote research and collaborative activities among academic and research institutions as well as to strengthen relationship among universities and cities to contribute to a sustainable society.

There are three main units (environment unit, urban planning unit and public health unit) within the IACSC to achieve its goal.



International symposium sites and themes

Year Venue Hosting University Theme
2010 Japan: Yokohama Yokohama City University Exploring Sustainable Cities: A New Role of Universities
2011 Malaysia: Penang Universiti Sains Malaysia Towards a Sustainable Future: A Collaboration of Higher Education Institutions and Local Society
2012 Thailand: Bangkok Thammasat University Re-imagining Sustainable Cities
2013 The Philippines: Quezon/Manila University of the Philippines Transforming Cities into Sustainable and Resilient Communities
2014 Vietnam: Ho Chi Minh Vietnam National University Opportunities and Challenges for Urban Sustainable Development
2015 Japan: Yokohama Yokohama City University Global Partnership and Local Initiatives for Sustainable Cities
2016 Malaysia: Penang Universiti Sains Malaysia Prosperous Urban Living
2017 Thailand: Bangkok Thammasat University Well-being of Sustainable Living in Aging Population Era
2018 The Philippines University of the Philippines Equity and Health in Urban Environments in the Era of Sustainable Development
2019 Indonesia: Makassar Hasanuddin University Creating Resilient Cities with Diverse Urban Resources